Mountain Pointe is starting to reap the rewards for its run to the state title.

The Division I, Section IV honors were released this week and the Pride swept all of the honors as Jalen Brown was named player of the year, Antonio Hinojosa was named offensive player of the year, Timmy Hernandez was tabbed defensive player of the year, and Norris Vaughan was named coach of the year.

The Pride also had running backs Wesley Payne and Paul Lucas, offensive linemen Collin Lambdin and Natrell Curtis, tight end Emmanuel Butler, defensive ends Mitchell Fraboni and Charlie Trevino, linebacker Trey Lauer and defensive backs Dominique Fenstermacher and Markell Simmons earn first-team honors.

Desert Vista had wide receiver Richard Haywood, offensive and defensive linemen Jalen Jelks and linebacker Matt Trujillo earn first team honors.

To see the entire list for the five teams in the section, including second team and honorable mention, go to

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.