Neider named DI Coach of the Year - Ahwatukee Foothills News: Sports Briefs

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Neider named DI Coach of the Year

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, March 16, 2013 1:49 pm

Mountain Pointe girls basketball coach Trevor Neider has taken the Pride to a new level and his colleagues have noticed.

The fourth-year coach was named Division I Coach of the Year by his peers, who nominated players and coaches online at after leading the Pride to 26 wins and a quarterfinal berth.

Along the way, the Pride beat Highland in the semifinals of the Hawks’ own tournament and twice beat Desert Vista after it lost to the Thunder at least 12 times.

He was also named the Division I, Section III Coach of the Year, meaning he was given the DI award over St. Mary’s Curtis Ekmark (Division I, Section I) and Highland’s Miner Webster (Division I, Section II).

One of the reasons Mountain Pointe was so good this season was the play of junior post Kaylah Luope, who was named to the Division I second-team and the Section III first-team. The only other area player recognized was Pride senior Caitlyn Hetrick.

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Facebook on Facebook

Twitter on Twitter


Subscribe to via RSS

RSS Feeds


Uber Car

Ahwatukee Little League 11s win district title

Ahwatukee Little League Minors topped Chandler National North to win the District 13 title.

Despite excessive heat, some residents still active outside

By Jiahui Jia | Cronkite NewsFriday, June 24, 2016PHOENIX — It was 9 a.m. and the temperature had...

Online poll

prev next