McKenzie, Kelly receive honors - Ahwatukee Foothills News: Sports Briefs

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

McKenzie, Kelly receive honors

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, August 16, 2014 8:45 am

The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Tuesday the state-by-state winners of its inaugural High School Coach of the Year award.

The girls coach winner in Arizona is Desert Vista’s Cassandra McKenzie and the boys coach is Corona del Sol’s Tim Kelly for their efforts during the track season.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association’s first-ever National High School Coach of the Year award. Selected by a panel of track and field experts, one boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be announced later this month as the national winners.

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams’ performances throughout the 2014 track and field season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, the number of different events in which student-athletes were qualified, individual championships, and how their teams’ performances stacked up to previous years. An inaugural High School Coach of the Year award for cross country will be bestowed during the upcoming 2014 season.

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Facebook on Facebook

Twitter on Twitter


Subscribe to via RSS

RSS Feeds


Uber Car

Ahwatukee Little League 11s win district title

Ahwatukee Little League Minors topped Chandler National North to win the District 13 title.

Despite excessive heat, some residents still active outside

By Jiahui Jia | Cronkite NewsFriday, June 24, 2016PHOENIX — It was 9 a.m. and the temperature had...

Online poll

prev next