Pride duo enters state badminton as a favorite - Ahwatukee Foothills News: Sports

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Pride duo enters state badminton as a favorite

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, October 22, 2011 4:00 pm

The individual portion of the state badminton tournament gets under way today at Independence High, with first-round matches starting at 10:30 a.m. for singles and 9 a.m. for doubles.

The Mountain Pointe doubles team of Vaishnavi Koka and Kiyoko Hashimoto are seeded first, as they haven't lost this season and have rarely been challenged.

The other doubles entrant for the Pride is Geneva Heinkel and Sabrina Martinez, who are seeded seventh, while singles entrants for the Pride will be Jenna Dogherty and Larae Keso.

Desert Vista's lone seed is senior Susan Tu, who is seventh in singles action, and the Thunder's other entrant is Aakriti Gupta.

In doubles action, the Thunder has entered Suhitha Veeravelli and Caitlin Fagan as a team, and Victoria Wadsworth and Alyssa Goldberg as the other combo.

The Pride lost Monday in the team tournament as ninth-seeded Mountain Pointe defeated Red Mountain, 5-0, in the first round, but lost to No. 1 Xavier, 5-3, in the quarterfinals.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Facebook on Facebook

Twitter on Twitter


Subscribe to via RSS

RSS Feeds

Jason P. Skoda
  • Jason P. Skoda
  • Sports writer
  • Resident sports writer at the Ahwatukee Foothills News

Uber Car

Ahwatukee Little League 11s win district title

Ahwatukee Little League Minors topped Chandler National North to win the District 13 title.

Despite excessive heat, some residents still active outside

By Jiahui Jia | Cronkite NewsFriday, June 24, 2016PHOENIX — It was 9 a.m. and the temperature had...

Online poll

prev next