Lupoe’s unselfishness only added to all-around greatness - Ahwatukee Foothills News: Sports

Lupoe’s unselfishness only added to all-around greatness

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, May 31, 2014 6:30 am

Kaylah Lupoe’s greatest asset also holds her back to a certain extent.

The 6-foot-2 recent Mountain Pointe graduate had the ability to dominate on the court even more so than she did during her four years as the Pride’s starting center or forward.

She finished with 1,310 career points, but never averaged more than 13.0 a game partly because she was too unselfish at times. There were times when Lupoe might have had a clear lane to the basket or an open jumper, but she passed for some of the 143 career assists she had.

“I don’t know how many times I had to tell her to take the shot or go to the basketball,” Pride basketball coach Trevor Neider said during the season. “She is so unselfish. She could put up bigger numbers if she was more aggressive.”

Lupoe, who also had 129 kills for the Pride’s volleyball team, helped the Pride to its fourth straight 20-win season and heads to Hampton University in Virginia to be named the AFN’s Female Senior Athlete of the Year.

Before she leaves let’s take one last look at:

Kaylah Lupoe

Full name: Kaylah Lashawn Lupoe

Date of birth: Jan. 26, 1996

Height: 6-foot-2

Weight: 180 pounds

GPA: Unweighted: 3.6; weighted: 4.0

Family members: Parents, John and Frances Lupoe; brothers, John and Justin Lupoe; sister, Karyn Lupoe.

Hobbies: Basketball, scrapbooking, piano, crafting, ceramics, collecting, volleyball

Favorite TV show(s): “Law and Order,” “Scandal,” “SpongeBob”

Favorite movies: Too many to pick from, I love movies. “Helping Hands,” “Love and Basketball,” “Avatar,” “Seven Pounds”

Favorite actor: Denzel Washington, Sandra Bullock, Angelina Jolie, Gabrielle Union

Favorite song: Too many to chose from.

Favorite number: 12 and 31

Best advice: Be proud of who you are, know your past, and plan for the future.

The thing I like most about sports: The intensity and skills.

What I dislike most about sports: Sometimes there is unsportsmanlike behavior.

What is one of your favorite quote(s): “Once a task has begun, never leave until it’s done. Be the label great or small, do it well or not at all.”

Who do people say you look like: My mom.

What chore do you absolutely hate doing: The dishes.

If you could witness any event past, present or future, what would it be: See the election of a female president and watch one of Michael Jordan’s games in person.

What story does your family always tell about you: Father’s experiences in college basketball.

What is your favorite smell: Vanilla

Last dream you remember: Me playing on the Hampton University court with the women’s basketball team.

What you will remember most about high school: The friends and social events.

If you won the lottery what are the first three things you would do: Charity, pay for anything my parents want, and save for younger brother’s college.

Describe your perfect day and who (if anyone) would you spend it with (doing what): On a tropical beach with my family and close friends.

Where will you be in 10 years: Married and successful in my career, and start a family with my love.

Where will you be in 20 years: Married, successful in my career and with my family.

• Contact writer: (480) 898-7915 or jskoda@ahwatukee.com. Follow him on Twitter @JSkodaAFN.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Attorney General Forum - Question 2

Attorney General candidates Republican Mark Brnovich and Democrat Felecia Rotellini debate at ...

Facebook

ahwatukee.com on Facebook

Twitter

ahwatukee.com on Twitter

RSS

Subscribe to ahwatukee.com via RSS

RSS Feeds

Spacer4px
Jason P. Skoda
  • Jason P. Skoda
  • Sports writer
  • Resident sports writer at the Ahwatukee Foothills News

Attorney General Forum - Question 2

Attorney General candidates Republican Mark Brnovich and Democrat Felecia Rotellini debate at ...

Attorney General Forum - Question 5

Attorney General candidates Republican Mark Brnovich and Democrat Felecia Rotellini debate at the...

Attorney General Forum - Question 3

Attorney General candidates Republican Mark Brnovich and Democrat Felecia Rotellini debate at the...

Online poll

Loading…
prev next