Izzy Marshall
Mountain Pointe's Izzy Marshall is the Ahwatukee Foothills senior athlete of the year. May,25,2011 Darryl Webb/AFN Darryl Webb

Izzy Marshall has one of those smiles that can make an undertaker crack one of his own.

The Mountain Pointe senior-turned-graduate has a refreshing approach toward life after dealing with some hardship early on in his own life.

He was essentially raised by his grandmother, Nina Ross, after his father was killed and his mother dealt with a drug problem, but Marshall never let it harden his exterior.

Marshall doles out more hugs after games than tackles or dunks, but he is a terror on the field.

He was named the East Valley Region's defensive player of the year and the linebacker is on his way to Arizona State on a scholarship.

Before he heads to campus, Marshall receives one more accolade: The Ahwatukee Foothills News Male Senior Athlete of the Year.

One last look into Izzy Marshall

Date of birth: Feb. 24, 1992

Height: 6-foot-2

Weight: 205 pounds

Family members: Chris Marshall (brother), Mercedes Marshall (sister), Cashmere O'Neil (brother) and Natrell Curtis (cousin).

Car: My left and right feet (they are very helpful).

Hobbies: Football, basketball and art (drawing and painting).

Favorite TV show: "Family Guy"

Favorite movies: "Fast Five," "Hulk," "Iron Man" and "Transformers"

Favorite actor: Will Smith

Favorite athlete: I don't have one.

Favorite song: "Let me love you," by Mario

Favorite book: "The Outsiders," by S.E. Hinton

Favorite number: 8 or 12

Best compliment: I'm respectful, a gentlemen, and a great leader.

Worst advice: That I didn't have to take freshman year academics serious.

Best advice: I should stay humble when good things happen because soon one day it will all be gone.

The thing I like most about sports: The challenges and always having to compete.

What I dislike most about sports: Getting injured.

If I could do one thing over in my life: I would take freshman year more serious.

Last dream you remember: I was playing in the pros.

What I will remember most about high school: Is all the support from the faculty to help me get where I'm at now.

If you won the lottery what are the first three things you would do: I will first donate to a charity to feed the homeless, support my family and, lastly, I will buy myself a car so I will not have to walk every where.

Describe your perfect day: Waking up not having school and watching cartoons all day.

Where will you be in 10 years: I will be retired from the pros, starting a family, and running my own sport business.

Where will you be in 20 years: I will be running my business; helping others be successful.

• Contact writer: (480) 898-7915 or jskoda@ahwatukee.com

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.