In one sense it is hard to believe it's been 20 years already and in another sense, with the names on the list, there is a sentiment like what took so long.

No matter how you look at the fact that Mountain Pointe is starting its first hall of fame with eight inductees in a ceremony on Friday, Oct. 28, it is pretty cool.

The ceremony is being tied in with the 20th year of the school and while the first class features the whose who of Pride sports, it is open to anyone with Mountain Pointe ties from teachers, drama students, band members, etc.

There will be five athletes and three administrators/coaches in the first group.

Here is the list:


Reid Priddy (volleyball, Olympic gold medalist)

Sara Gorton-Slattery (track, cross country, college All-American, Pan Am gold medalist)

Sally Meyerhoff (track, cross country, college All-American)

Nicole Powell (basketball, college All-American, WNBA)

Brad Evans (soccer, college All-American, MLS champion)


Dr. Harold Slemmer (principal)

Karl Kiefer (football coach)

Karen Jacobson (badminton and softball coach)

The plan is to enshrine athletes every year hereafter.

There will be a BBQ at the school and halftime parade during the Pride's final home game against Mesa Westwood.

Look for more information in the days to come.

Contact writer: (480) 898-7915 or Follow him on Twitter @JSkodaAFN

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.