Basketball: DV vs Highland

ThunderÕs Quincy Taylor (5) dunks the ball during the basketball game between Desert Vista Thunder and Highland Hawks on Thursday, Dec. 12, 2013.

David Jolkovski/AFN

The All-Division I, Section II boys basketball team was released and several area players were honored.

Desert Vista's Quincy Taylor earned second team honors, while teammates Brandon Clarke and Marshall Powell were named honorable mention.

Mountain Pointe was represented by Emmanuel Butler as an HM pick.

Clarke was the only area play to make the all-academic team.

Here is the whole team:



Coach of the Year High School Record

Kevin Hartwig Hamilton 23-2

Player of the Year Class High School Stats

Casey Benson Senior Corona del Sol 17.0 ppg, 4.3 apg

First Team

Class High School Stats

Jake Toolson Senior Highland 26.9 ppg, 11.9 rpg

Anthony Bryant Senior Gilbert 11.6 ppg, 3.8 apg

Markus Howard Freshman Perry 21.7 ppg, 3.0 rpg

Dane Kuiper Junior Corona del Sol 11.0 ppg, 6.7 rpg

James Sosinski Junior Hamilton 11.4 ppg, 6.9 rpg

Jordan Howard Senior Perry 16.9 ppg, 2.8 apg

Hunter Thomas Senior Desert Ridge 21.8 ppg, 7.3 rpg


Class High School Stats

Quincy Taylor Junior Desert Vista 14.5 ppg, 3.7 rpg

Zachary Evans Senior Hamilton 10.2 ppg, 4.8 apg

Jalen Jenkins Junior Red Mountain 12.6 ppg, 7.1 rpg

Spencer Nicolds Senior Gilbert 11.3 ppg, 5.6 rpg

Austin Witherill Senior Highland 13.6 ppg, 2.9 rpg

Connor MacDougall Senior Corona del Sol 10.6 ppg, 6.0 rpg

Wyatt Lowell Sophomore Gilbert 10.0 ppg, 5.5 rpg

Honorable Mention

Class High School

Nathan Markovich Senior Basha

Klay Stall Soph Basha

Marco Morales Senior Chandler

Bryce Perkins Junior Chandler

Jarrett Givens Senior Corona del Sol

Russ Davis Senior Corona del Sol

Teddy Allen Soph Desert Ridge

Dean Spitzer Senior Desert Ridge

Brandon Clarke Junior Desert Vista

Marshall Powell Senior Desert Vista

Truman Moore Junior Gilbert

Eric Mosely Senior Gilbert

Anthony Withers Senior Hamilton

Luke McCook Senior Hamilton

Christian Sanchez Senior Highland

Chip White Senior Highland

Jordan Lee Junior Mesquite

Jake Gaustad Senior Mesquite

Emanuel Butler Senior Mountain Pointe

Geoffrey Vredevoogd Senior Perry

Bryce Fisher Soph Perry

Colton Plourd Senior Red Mountain

Desmond Ethridge Soph Red Mountain

Charlie Watkin Junior Skyline

Dimetris Moore Soph Skyline

Academic Team

Class High School

Chris Ahern Junior Basha

Kameron Casey Senior Chandler

Alex Barcello Freshman Corona del Sol

Cameron Chatwick Senior Desert Ridge

Brandon Clarke Junior Desert Vista

James Scoggin Soph Hamilton

Cole McEuen Senior Highland

Jake Gaustad Senior Mesquite

Jordan Howard Senior Perry

Maguire Gillen Junior Red Mountain

Isaiah Self Senior Skyline

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.