Ahwatukee Foothills News: Opinion

Opinion

rss feed
Thursday 08/21/2014
Turley-Hansen: USA participation in border chaos the ultimate evil
Posted: August 21, 2014

We hear Hamas uses children as shields for military (political) purposes and, truth is, it looks like the terrorist group is guilty.

more »
Wednesday 08/20/2014
Bowie: Arizona must invest in education
Posted: August 20, 2014

If you turn on the television, or open your mailbox, this year’s election is being dominated by a slew of topics with immigration, gun rights and personal attacks being the most common. Each of these issues obscures what should be the most important priority in this election: the future of education in our state.

more »
Monday 08/18/2014
Rodriguez: Walters is the clear choice for CD9
Updated: August 21, 2014 - 4:34 pm

I have come to know why, for many Americans, “politicians” is a bad word. Most of the people I know are frustrated with a Republican led Congress and a Democratic majority in the Senate unable to work together on issues that are important to the American people like immigration reform, the national debt, Social Security, international conflicts and many more concerns we are all, as Americans, hoping will be addressed soon.

more »
McCain: Legislation represents a significant step forward for veterans
Posted: August 18, 2014

This spring, as tragic reports surfaced of veterans dying while waiting for care at the Phoenix VA, I hosted a town hall forum at Burton Barr Central Library where the families of four veterans who passed away stood before a packed room to tell their stories.

more »
Saturday 08/16/2014
DiCiccio: National small business group lists Phoenix in top 5
Updated: August 21, 2014 - 4:34 pm

This summer, the National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB) named Phoenix one of the top five cities to open a new business. In making this rating, the NFIB specifically cited recent reforms I helped develop — making Phoenix one of the best places in the nation to start or expand business. These reforms included 24-hour permitting, online permitting, 24-hour inspections and five-day site review.

more »
Friday 08/15/2014
The importance of popcorn should never be underestimated
Posted: August 15, 2014

This is embarrassing, or at least it would be if I had any hope of pretending that I wasn’t doing a perfect impersonation of an ex-nun. But my feckless, impetuous youth has recklessly sailed and sunk in the harbor, so you may as well know the truth.

more »
Thursday 08/14/2014
O'Donnell: Are your kids covered for the school year?
Posted: August 14, 2014

Summer always seems to go by so quickly. Before we know it, the beginning of the school year is here and that’s why Arizonans should take steps today to make sure their families have health coverage heading into the school year.

more »
Saturday 08/09/2014
Tamblo: Learn to say NO!
Updated: August 21, 2014 - 4:34 pm

NO! Tell this message to Pulte and Mr. Gee. Remember, these guys are NOT our friends. They are not trying to “work with us.” They are rolling right over us. They have meetings filled with convenient conversations. This is like petting your cow just before butchering it. NO! I have been around these travesties before and years afterward neighbors are shrugging their shoulders saying, “Gee, we got taken again.” Don’t let it happen to us. They cannot promise a density of homes in our golf fairways until they get final permission from the Phoenix Planning and Zoning Commission.

more »
Thursday 08/07/2014
Ahwatukee will not be the same without Barnes & Noble
Updated: August 12, 2014 - 11:58 am

Books are written to help readers change their perspective on life, to go after their dreams, and to help shape us all to become the people we are going to ultimately become someday. They are written to help us learn about the past, give us insight to current events, and to prepare us for the future. When children are given a book, they are given a key to another world that will help expand their mind and start to show them what their interests are. And what better place to exercise their creativity than by that of a bookstore.

more »
Wednesday 08/06/2014
Turley-Hansen: What’s with the firewall between generations?
Updated: August 14, 2014 - 2:58 pm

With a state election looming — so very important — I pause in the last few moments of calm to ponder the state of the human process.

more »

MP talent contest - WRs

Isaiah Banks and company flips out to win it all

Facebook

ahwatukee.com on Facebook

Twitter

ahwatukee.com on Twitter

RSS

Subscribe to ahwatukee.com via RSS

RSS Feeds

Spacer4px

MP talent contest - WRs

Isaiah Banks and company flips out to win it all

MP talent contest - LB

Epic fail on this attempt

MP talent contest - OL

Xavier Cuevas represents the boys in the trenches rather gracefully

Online poll

Loading…
prev next