Ahwatukee Foothills News: Opinion

Opinion

rss feed
Saturday 09/20/2014
Stanton: Preparation, community help Phoenix during record storm, recovery
Posted: September 20, 2014

Our community has seen its fair share of monsoon storms over the years, but when the remnants of Hurricane Norbert rolled through the Valley on Sept. 8, Phoenix neighborhoods saw record-breaking rainfall and historic flooding.

more »
Friday 09/19/2014
DiCiccio: Protecting what you already paid for
Posted: September 19, 2014

Phoenix has much to offer that appeals to residents and tourists alike, from fantastic events like Devour Phoenix and the Super Bowl, great places to take the kids like the Science Center and our numerous parks, to world-class restaurants and endless sunny skies. These are just a few of the features of Phoenix that draw hundreds of thousands of tourists to our city each year, injecting millions of dollars into our economy, and these same features make living in Phoenix so enjoyable for those of us who call it home.

more »
Thursday 09/18/2014
Turley-Hansen: Readers sound off on respect for authority
Posted: September 18, 2014

Sometimes newspaper opinion generates the cream of community-thinking, which, in truth, is what it’s supposed to do. And, another plus: Readers’ constructive input drown out the belly-aching from tweeter-types.

more »
Saving children’s lives, one ride at a time
Posted: September 18, 2014

What if we told you that there was a way to help prevent one of the leading causes of childhood deaths, but that three out of four of us were doing it wrong?

more »
Friday 09/12/2014
Stevens: Speak up and reach out for Recovery Month
Posted: September 12, 2014

Any age. Any gender. Any race. That’s the hard truth about substance use, which can target a 12 year old or a retiree struggling with aging.

more »
Monday 09/08/2014
Shamah: Anti-raise the wage noise defies facts
Posted: September 08, 2014

The Republicans argue that raising the minimum wage will increase unemployment, increase prices, and make our businesses less competitive. The data does not support these claims. In fact, states that have a higher minimum wage have lower unemployment, and healthier economies.

more »
Saturday 09/06/2014
Norgaard thanks voters
Posted: September 06, 2014

Thank you District 18 voters who put their trust in me to represent them as the Republican nominee for the Arizona House of Representatives.

more »
Thursday 09/04/2014
Patterson: Time for U.S. to get ‘crazy’ and fight to win in Middle East
Posted: September 04, 2014

Let’s face it, America and the West are failing now on the world stage. Particularly in the Middle East, fanatical Islamists are riding a huge wave of success. The convert-or-die crowd seems close to establishing the long-desired caliphate of regional Islamic hegemony.

more »
Monday 09/01/2014
Turley-Hansen: Civilized society is about ‘the gun’
Updated: September 18, 2014 - 4:34 pm

I love Michael Brown, the fallen, “gentle giant” from Ferguson, Mo. I love all young men, a habit left over from raising three sons; big, loud, cocky; perilously full of life.

more »
Saturday 08/30/2014
Hearing loss and sports, don’t let team spirit damage your hearing
Posted: August 30, 2014

He drops back … has time … throws toward the end zone … caught for a TOUCHDOWN.

more »

Desert Vista Thunder Football Preview 2014

The Thunder look to return to their winning ways behind a talented junior class and a group of...

Facebook

ahwatukee.com on Facebook

Twitter

ahwatukee.com on Twitter

RSS

Subscribe to ahwatukee.com via RSS

RSS Feeds

Spacer4px

Desert Vista Thunder Football Preview 2014

The Thunder look to return to their winning ways behind a talented junior class and a group of...

MP talent contest - WRs

Isaiah Banks and company flips out to win it all

MP talent contest - LB

Epic fail on this attempt

Online poll

Loading…
prev next