Field set for Congressional, state races across East Valley - Ahwatukee Foothills News: Valley And State

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Field set for Congressional, state races across East Valley

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, June 7, 2014 4:00 pm

The field of contenders to represent East Valley residents in Congress, the State Senate and the State House of Representatives has been finalized.

Candidates for Congress in District 9, which encompasses portions of Mesa, Chandler and Tempe, include incumbent Democrat Kyrsten Sinema, who will face either retired Lt. Col. Wendy Rogers or former Arizona State University quarterback Andrew Walter in the general election in November. Rogers and Walter are running against each other to represent the GOP in the contest.

Also running for re-election is Republican Matt Salmon, who represents portions of Mesa, Gilbert, Chandler and Queen Creek in the 5th District. Opposing Salmon in the race is Democrat and Gilbert resident James Woods.

Also on the docket for the 2014 election are seats in the state Legislature, which covers Districts 12, 16, 17, 18, 25 and 26. The state Senate candidates for those races are incumbent Republican Andy Biggs and Democrat Scott Glover in District 12; Republicans David Farnsworth and Taylor McArthur and Democrat Scott Prior in District 16; incumbent Republican Steve Yarbrough and Democrat Kristie O’Brien in District 17; Republicans Jeff Dial and Tom Morrissey and Democrat Janie Hydrick in District 18; Republican incumbent Bob Worsley and Republican Ralph Heap, as well as Democrat Steve Zachary, for District 25; and Democrat Ed Ableser and Libertarian Jennifer Knepfler in District 26.

State House candidates are Republicans Eddie Farnsworth and Warren Petersen and DJ Rothans in District 12; Democrat Cara Prior and Republicans Adam Stevens, Kelly Townsend, John Fillmore and Doug Coleman in District 16; Republicans J.D. Mesnard and Jeff Weninger and Democrat Danielle Lee in District 17; Republicans John King, Jill Norgaard, David Pheanis and Bob Robson and Democrat Mitzi Epstein in District 18; Democrats David Butler and Sheila Ogea, Libertarian Michael Kielsky and Republicans Rusty Bowers, Haydee Dawson, Justin Olson, Michelle Udall and Jerry Walker in District 25; and Libertarian Chris Will, Republican James Roy and Democrats Juan Mendez and Andrew Sherwood in District 26.

The primary election is scheduled for Aug. 26 and the general election is Nov. 4. A complete list of candidates is available by visiting

  • Discuss

Facebook on Facebook

Twitter on Twitter


Subscribe to via RSS

RSS Feeds


Uber Car

Ahwatukee Little League 11s win district title

Ahwatukee Little League Minors topped Chandler National North to win the District 13 title.

Despite excessive heat, some residents still active outside

By Jiahui Jia | Cronkite NewsFriday, June 24, 2016PHOENIX — It was 9 a.m. and the temperature had...