Voters to narrow field of candidates vying to represent AF Aug. 24 - Ahwatukee Foothills News: News

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Voters to narrow field of candidates vying to represent AF Aug. 24

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, August 10, 2010 11:00 pm

Only a few days remain before Ahwatukee Foothills residents head to the polls to vote for local candidates in the primary election Tuesday, Aug. 24.

Voters will be asked to select candidates in local races for both state and federal offices.

When it comes to the state Legislature, Ahwatukee Foothills falls with Legislative District 20, which also includes parts of Tempe and Chandler. Incumbent Republican John McComish is running unopposed in the district for Arizona state senator.

The field of candidates for two seats representing LD 20 in the state House of Representatives is more crowded. Three Republicans - incumbent Bob Robson, businessman Jeff Dial and health care consultant Christopher Tolino - have thrown their hats in the ring. Incumbent Democrat Rae Waters is running for re-election. And the Green Party has fielded write-in candidate Drew Blischak.

When it comes to the U.S. House of Representatives, Ahwatukee Foothills falls within Congressional District 5. Incumbent Democrat Harry Mitchell is campaigning to keep his seat, while a half-dozen Republicans are facing off for their party's nomination. Republican candidates include Central Arizona Water Conservation District board member Susan Bitter Smith, business consultant Lee Gentry, physician Chris Salvino, Maricopa County Treasurer David Schweikert, real estate agent Mark Spinks and financier Jim Ward. Libertarian candidate Nick Coons and write-in Green Party candidate Ryan Blackman also are hoping to unseat Mitchell.

Statewide races on the ballot include those for U.S. Senate and for Arizona Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Treasurer, Superintendent of Public Instruction, State Mine Inspector and Corporation Commissioner.

Polls Aug. 24 will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. To find your polling place, visit the Arizona Secretary of State's Web site at

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Facebook on Facebook

Twitter on Twitter


Subscribe to via RSS

RSS Feeds


Uber Car

Ahwatukee Little League 11s win district title

Ahwatukee Little League Minors topped Chandler National North to win the District 13 title.

Despite excessive heat, some residents still active outside

By Jiahui Jia | Cronkite NewsFriday, June 24, 2016PHOENIX — It was 9 a.m. and the temperature had...

Online poll