The Tempe Union High School District’s 2013 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists were recognized at an awards reception on Oct. 29 at Desert Vista High School. Families, friends and principals were joined by Superintendent Dr. Kenneth Baca and governing board members Michelle Helm, Zita Johnson, DeeAnne McClenahan, David Schapira and Mary Lou Taylor. Dr. David Garcia, ASU associate professor, Division of Educational Leadership and Innovation, was the guest speaker.

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists from Ahwatukee Foothills schools in the TUHSD are: Cole Barber and Jessica Zhu from Mountain Pointe; and Thomas E. Anderson, Durward Benham, Alena Chang, Jenny Chen, Crystal Cockerill, Thomas Doehrman, Zakary Ferrara, Kai Flowers, Jonathan Gauthier, Kohinoor Gill, Mitchell Hammer, Richard Lin, Rohan Murty, Mina Park, Amodini Pathak, Parker Peelen, Christina Seideman, Ryan Smith, Suhitha Veeravelli, Hong Fan Wang, and Anran Yu from Desert Vista.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.