This spring the Tempe Diablos are recognizing teachers and staff from the Kyrene School District, Tempe Elementary School District and Tempe Union High School District for innovation, inspiration and achievement. Teachers and staff are nominated for a variety of awards by students, families, peers, and principals. Winners receive a plaque and a cash award. A gala awards presentation will take place on March 26 at ASU Gammage, 1200 S. Forest Ave. in Tempe. The public is encouraged to attend. Doors will open at 7 p.m. with the program set to begin at 7:20 p.m.

The Kyrene finalists are:

Above and Beyond: Laurie Jake-Centennial, Matt Penland-Centennial.

Achievement: Dr. Cheryl Greene-Esperanza, Nancy Corner-Altadeña

Class Act: Sandy Anderson-District Office, Bonnie Hammers-Aprende

Innovation: Community Education and Outreach Services Department, Traci Blauser-Aprende

Inspiration: Sondra Bates and Kris Gayhart-Milenio, Su Rogers-Cerritos

Outstanding New: Wolfgang Ganey-Aprende, Jason Todd-Akimel A-al

Lifetime Achievement: Joanna Harness-Niños, Betty Lou McCarney-Aprende

Teacher of the Year: Kerry Buck-Altadeña, Julie Cleveland- Estrella, Amy Furman- Aprende

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.