Every year the All Arizona School Retirees Association (AASRA) awards three scholarships to students pursuing a curriculum in education at Arizona's three state-supported universities.

This year, AASRA has honored René L. Acereto of Tucson, Isabelle Alonso of Phoenix and Lisa Wontor of Tempe with its 2011 AASRA scholarship award.

AASRA is a nonprofit organization that is affiliated with the National Retired Teachers Association (NRTA) and is based at the AARP Arizona State Office in Peoria.

The goal of AASRA is to promote the economic, social and professional development of the association and its members (former teachers, school principals, administrators, nurses, school bus drivers or custodians).

For AASRA scholarship information or to contribute to the AASRA Scholarship Fund, contact AASRA at (623) 979-8402.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.