The following Tempe Union High School District students have advanced to the finalist level for the prestigious National Merit Scholarship.

As juniors these students took the 2013 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as the initial screening of all entrants. According to the National Merit Scholarship Foundation, “these students must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier qualifying test performance.”

McClintock High School:

• Jonathan E. Amold

• Meghan D. Foe

• Jacob R. Hayton

•Sourmya C. Kambhampati

• Jake A. Merdich

• Anjali N. Nair

Corona del Sol High School:

• Omar M. Arafa

• Rohit R. Badia

• Patric T. Cao

• Nicholas J. Creasman

• Sapna S. Daryanani

• Daniel A. D’Souza

• Domenic X. Redmond

• Jasmine Y. Xi

Mountain Pointe High School:

• Nina K. Desai

• Arjun M. Karpur

• Nora C. Mencinger

Desert Vista High School:

• Saheba Bhatnagar

• Joseph Chen

• Matthew D. Cohen

• Hailey Dickson

• Gina Han

• Bomi A. Johnson

• Joann J. Nam

• Adam C. Ortega

• Varsha Parthasarathy

• Rajeev K. Parvathala

• Jay P. Raju

• Jessica A. Tueller

• Jonathan J. Wu

• Joyce Yang

• Jooeun “Julia” Yoo

• Zhihan “Jennifer” Zhang

• Sarah Zhou

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.