The Senate voted 17-12, with all Democrats opposed, to impose new rules on when a divorced parent can move.
Current law allows a custodial parent to move up to 100 miles without permission of the former spouse. SB 1072 would require the parent to provide notice to the former spouse for any move, no matter how many — or few — additional miles away that would place the child, and give the other parent a chance to object and potentially trigger a court hearing.
Sen. Nancy Barto, R-Phoenix, agreed to language which says that notice is necessary only when there will be “material changes of circumstances affecting the best interests of the child.”
And the measure says any move of less than 2 miles is presumed not to affect those interests, though there are exceptions.
The House now takes up the measure.
The state took another step Monday to allow privately minted gold and silver coins to be considered legal tender in Arizona.
Nothing in SB 1439 would require private merchants to accept these coins. But proponents told members of the House Committee on Financial Institutions that this would provide a necessary backup if the value of U.S. currency became so inflated as to be useless.
Utah has adopted similar legislation. The measure, which already has been approved by the Senate, now goes to the full House.
A Senate panel voted 5-2 Monday to require permission of the state Department of Transportation for a city to install or maintain photo enforcement on any state highway.
HB 2469 would not affect radar and red light cameras on city streets. But Sen. Chester Crandell, R-Heber, said the state has a legitimate interest in what happens on the roads it maintains.
The legislation would require cities to show there is a specific traffic problem where a camera is proposed as well as follow-up to show that the installation actually improved safety.
The vote by the Committee on Government and Environment sends the bill, which already has been approved by the House, to the full Senate.
Guns in schools
On a party-line vote the Senate on Monday agreed to let at least some school boards decide if they want employees to be armed on campus.
The measure applies only to schools of fewer than 600 students that are at least 20 miles and 30 minutes away from the closest law enforcement facilities.
Sen. Rich Crandall, R-Mesa, said these are the schools that are most at risk of not having immediate access to an armed police officer in the case of an armed intruder.
Democrats have generally opposed allowing anyone other than a trained police officer to have a gun on campus. SB 1325 requires whomever is designated to have certain training and mandates that person either carry the weapon concealed or keep it in a secure storage locker.
The bill now goes to the House.
• Compiled by Capitol Media Services.