Educators honored at Gammage - Ahwatukee Foothills News: Community Focus

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Educators honored at Gammage

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, March 31, 2012 12:20 pm

Teachers from the Ahwatukee Foothills area were honored at the 2012 Tempe Diablos Excellence in Education Awards on Monday.

Winners from the individual school districts — Kyrene, Tempe Union High School and Tempe Elementary school districts — were named in eight different categories at an award ceremony at Gammage Center for the Performing Arts.

Laurie Jake from Kyrene Centennial Middle School and Jermaine Whitaker from Marcos de Niza High School in Tempe were named winners for the Above and Beyond Award.

Dr. Cheryl Greene, principal of Kyrene de la Esperanza Elementary and Dr. Linda Peairs, who teaches Honors Spanish 5-6, AP Spanish Language, and AP Spanish Literature for Dual Enrollment with Rio Salado College at Desert Vista High School, won the Achievement Award.

For the Class Act award, the winners were Sandy Anderson from the Kyrene School District Office and Dave Newton from McClintock High School in Tempe.

The Kyrene Community Education and Outreach Services were named winners with teacher Mike Warner from Tempe High School receiving the Innovation Award.

Sondra Bates and Kris Gayhart from Kyrene del Milenio Elementary in Ahwatukee Foothills won the Inspiration Award, along with Anna Rodriguez from Marcos de Niza.

Mountain Pointe teacher William Primack won Outstanding New Teacher with Wolfgang Ganey from Aprende Middle School in Chandler.

Laura Zinke from McClintock High School and Betty Lou McCarney from Kyrene Aprende Middle School won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Teacher of the Year Award went to Ahwatukee Foothills and Mountain Pointe High School teacher Steven Adams in Tempe Union and Amy Furman from Kyrene Aprende Middle School.

Approximately $220,000 in scholarships and awards were given out on March 26 to students and the winners. The keynote speaker was Gerda Weissmann Klein. Klein is a celebrated author, 2010 Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient, Academy Award winner and Holocaust survivor.

• Contact writer: (480) 898-4903 or

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Facebook on Facebook

Twitter on Twitter


Subscribe to via RSS

RSS Feeds


Uber Car

Ahwatukee Little League 11s win district title

Ahwatukee Little League Minors topped Chandler National North to win the District 13 title.

Despite excessive heat, some residents still active outside

By Jiahui Jia | Cronkite NewsFriday, June 24, 2016PHOENIX — It was 9 a.m. and the temperature had...

Online poll