Ahwatukee Foothills News: Book Reviews

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

Book Reviews

Sunday 11/08/2015
From musical harmony to cacophony
Posted: November 08, 2015

When thinking of historical fiction books, musicians aren’t what usually comes to mind; and author Steve Bergsman likes it that way.

more »
Friday 08/07/2015
The final sunset in Miklich’s ‘Perfect Wave’ series
Updated: August 18, 2015 - 3:53 pm

Finding the perfect wave in Arizona can be like looking for El Dorado, but Queen Creek author Cheri H. Miklich proves that with a little imagination even waves can crest in the desert.

more »
Wednesday 06/03/2015
Join the Arizona Opera Book Club
Posted: June 03, 2015

Did you know that the Arizona Opera has its own book club? Delve into the rich stories behind the operas you see on stage this summer with the Arizona Opera Book Club (AOBC). It’s completely free and open to all. 

more »
Saturday 03/28/2015
3 British psychological thrillers that are hard to put down
Posted: March 28, 2015

The psychological thriller genre has been defined as a “suspenseful book which emphasizes the psychology of its characters more so than the plot.”

more »
Sunday 03/22/2015
3 British psychological thrillers that are hard to put down
Posted: March 22, 2015

The definition of a psychological thriller has been defined as a “suspenseful book which emphasizes the psychology of its characters more so than the plot.”

more »
Monday 01/26/2015
New book relatable to women who grew up in the ’50s and ’60s
Updated: September 25, 2015 - 2:26 pm

Did you ever pick a book strictly on an appealing title drawing you in or arousing your curiosity? Often not the best way, leading to disappointment.

more »
Tuesday 12/02/2014
Ahwatukee author shares hope, healing after tragic loss in ‘Waiting for Heaven’
Updated: December 04, 2014 - 10:33 pm

Holidays can be a difficult time for families who have recently lost loved ones. In “Waiting for Heaven,” an Ahwatukee resident, Heather Gillis, reaches out to parents everywhere who have lost a child and are struggling to find peace within the midst of their pain. As the book jacket says, “Life can sometimes lead us to unexpected places, only to leave us broken, desperate and hurting.” Gillis tells of her personal struggle when her baby son, Bowen, died 13 days after birth of a fatal kidney disease, autosomal recessive polycystic kidney disease (ARPKD).

more »
Tuesday 11/18/2014
‘Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis: The Untold Story’ reveals more than ever of late First Lady
Updated: December 02, 2014 - 1:36 pm

As we approach the 51st anniversary month of the assassination of John F. Kennedy, a new biography, “Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis: The Untold Story,” by Barbara Leaming, is released. The subtitle, “The Untold Story,” is appropriate as it reveals intimate details, conversations, and correspondence which I think the American public has not been privy to earlier. As a devoted fan of Jackie’s like so many of us young women were in the ’60s, I continued to admire her through the years and thought I had read everything written about her. Yet in this biography I felt I was getting to know the real person, not the public figure. I think Leaming has captured Jackie’s thought processes and motivations for many of her actions following the assassination. Although not always presented in a flattering light, by the end of the book, I found myself admiring her even more, yet with a deep sorrow for what she endured throughout her life that the public was probably not aware of.

more »
Wednesday 10/29/2014
Summer was full of great book reading
Updated: December 02, 2014 - 1:36 pm

Although I do not write book reviews in the summer months, I do continue reading, perhaps more than ever. Lucky enough to spend summers in the cool pines of northern Arizona, I walk a lot and an audio book is my constant companion. I was having a difficult time trying to choose which book to review as I start a new season, so I elected to do mini reviews instead of one long one. I’ll try to capture their essence briefly.

more »
Wednesday 10/15/2014
Debut author Matthew Thomas gets rave reviews with ‘We Are Not Ourselves’
Updated: December 02, 2014 - 1:36 pm

Hello Ahwatukee readers! Although I do not write book reviews in the summer months, I do continue reading, perhaps more than ever. Lucky enough to spend summers in the cool pines of Northern Arizona, I walk a lot and an audio book is my constant companion. I was having a difficult time trying to choose which book to review as I start a new season, so I elected to do eight mini reviews instead of one long one. I’ll try to capture their essence briefly. Here’s the first one:

more »

Online poll

Loading…

Creature Feature — Arabian Oryx

Did you know the Phoenix Zoo helped save the Arabian Oryx from extinction? Operation Oryx star...

2016 World Championship Hoop Dance Contest

By Coleton Berry, Special to GetOut On Feb. 13-14, at the Heard Museum in Phoenix, dancers from v...

2016 Arizona state wrestling parade of champions

2016 Arizona state wrestling parade of champions

Facebook

ahwatukee.com on Facebook

Twitter

ahwatukee.com on Twitter

RSS

Subscribe to ahwatukee.com via RSS

RSS Feeds

Spacer4px

Calendar

Submit Calendar Event
prev next